Learn English 100% free...Get 1 free lesson per week // Add a new lesson
Log in!

Click here to log in
New account
4 million accounts created!
JOIN our free club and learn English now!

  • Home
  • Print
  • Guestbook
  • Report a bug

  • Get a free English lesson every week!
    Click here!

    - Our other sites

    What does the Union Jack Flag stand for?

    The flag of the United Kingdom, commonly known as the Union Jack (which derives from the use of the Union Flag on the jack-staff of naval vessels), embodies the emblems of three countries under one Sovereign. The emblems that appear on the Union Flag are the crosses of three patron saints:

    the red cross of St. George, for England, on a white ground

    the white diagonal cross, or saltire, of St. Andrew, for Scotland, on a blue ground

    the red diagonal cross of St Patrick, for Ireland, on a white ground.




    Red cross = St George (England)

    White diagonal cross = St Andrew (Scotland)

    Red diagonal cross = St Patrick (Ireland)

    3 countries, 1 Sovereign


    To learn more...

    The final version of the Union Flag, including the cross of St Patrick, appeared in 1801, following the union of Great Britain with Ireland. The cross remains in the flag although now only Northern Ireland is part of he United Kingdom.